Day Tripping: The historic, 1895 Allen Newton house and other popular Yreka sights to explore

The Allen Newton House, located at 325 North Gold Street, in Yreka, is a lovely Queen Ann Style Victorian, that attracts visitors and curious onlookers year-round. Easy to locate, the Newton House is just one of many unique places to visit for a road-break while traveling through the North State region along Interstate 5.

Founded in March 1851 with the discovery of gold in the nearby ‘flats’, Yreka quickly became the commercial and transportation hub for the surrounding communities and mining camps. Along with the the historic, 1890s home, many other popular locations that hearken back to Yreka’s mining days of the mid to late 1800s can be found, including the West Miner Street Historic District – where the Franco American Hotel can still be found, the Siskiyou County Museum, the Chinese Cemetery Memorial, and Greenhorn Park. Other popular sites to visit while in Yreka include the Rain Rock Casino and The Wine Bar & Bistro.

LEADING THE SCNS HEADLINES:

Victim’s family relieved after Fall River murder suspect located, arrested in Redding transient camp

Arrested more than 20 times this year, woman arrested again after violent Redding incident

Early morning Anderson bike patrol leads to two arrests, including wanted felon

Redding man, 25, dead after truck plummets off SR-299E near Ingot

Woman seriously injured, airlifted, after Burney motorcycle crash

Born in 1867, Allen Newton was the son of pioneer, Dr. Joel Newton, who lived in nearby Fort Jones. Mr. Newton served as the Siskiyou County Clerk for a period, and then went into the grocery business with his father-in-law, John Pashburg, Sr. and his brother-in-law, John E. Pashburg.

In 1894, at the age of 27, Mr. Newton married a local girl, Minnie Pashburg, and the home was built the following year in 1895; so it is likely this was the home he built for his new bride and their future life together, according to local historians.

Built in 1895 by Allen Newton, where the current-day intersection of Miner and Fourth streets now intersect, Yreka’s historic Newton House has undergone many changes over the years and is now located on North Gold Street. City of Yreka photo

Originally located near 202 North Main Street, the home sat where the intersection of Miner and Fourth streets now intersect, and the house was directly accessible from the road.

Although Mr. Newton died in 1923, Minnie continued to live at the home for another 33 years until 1956, when she passed away at the age of 85.

During the late 1920s or 1930s, the house was moved back onto its lot, in order to make room for a small gas station in the front area, which was used to provide fuel and other services to travelers on then-Highway 99 (Main Street).

Sometime after 1950, commercial buildings began popping up along the route and the home and gas station were eventually obscured from direct view. The gas station eventually disappeared and commercial buildings took its place as well as the yard in front of the house.

Nearly 100 years later, in 1988, the home was moved to its present location on North Gold Street, at which time the new owners lovingly restored the residence.

LOVE SHASTA COUNTY HISTORY?
SEE: Exploring Shasta County History with Jeremy Tuggle:

Bella Vista: A lumber town

Legendary Mining Lore: Gold Nuggets of History

Silver City: A prelude to Furnaceville & Ingot – Part 1

Furnaceville & Ingot: Home of the Afterthought mine – Part 2

Exploring the rich history of McArthur-Burney Falls Memorial State Park

Cottonwood’s origins, from small 1850s townsite to 1890s growing RR hub

After visiting the Newton House, travelers and visitors to the area are encouraged to visit some of the City’s other popular features, just a few of which are listed below.

The Bill Beaver Project, Trip Advisor photos
  • The West Miner Street Historic District, is located where Yreka’s tents and shanties eventually gave way to more substantial commercial and residential buildings in the area of current-day West Miner and Third Streets. The district covers 164 acres and contains seven contributing buildings, which are now a California Historical Landmark. The district was also listed in the National Register of Historic Places in December, 1972.
Trip Advisor photos
  • The Franco American Hotel, located within the City’s Historic District, was built by Frenchman Leon Marniesse in 1855. The original hotel housed a restaurant, Wells Fargo and Company Express Office, saloon and other businesses, and was a well-known stagecoach stop. Through the years, improvements consisted if a “piazza” or balcony across the front, additional suites of sleeping rooms upstairs and a two story brick dining room. Prominent hotel guests included Vice President Colfax, General and Mrs. Philip Sheridan and President Hayes. The hotel is now the home of Gary & Roselie Nelson, who have their life-long collection of artifacts and other collectibles on display.
Discover Siskiyou, Siskiyou County Historical Society photos
  • After opening its doors to the public in August, 1951, the Siskiyou County Museum‘s displays highlight the people, places, and events that shaped the region’s history from prehistoric times to pioneer settlement. The 2 ½ acre Outdoor Museum exhibits machinery, and early transportation vehicles, along with historic and recreated buildings. Current admission prices are $3 for adults (13 and older), $1 for children (aged 6 to 12), and free for children 5 years or younger.
Discover Siskiyou, Trip Advisor photos
  • Greenhorn Park, located off Greenhorn Road, has a multitude of trails to explore for hikers, bikers and strollers. The birds around Greenhorn Reservoir and the remnants of mining activity are among the highlights that can be seen while traveling along the park’s main, three-and-three-quarter mile long loop, which is open year-round and offers great cell phone reception. Those wanting a longer hike and adventure can extend their explorations on several unsigned trails from the upper parts of the western end of the park, in the adjacent Klamath National Forest.
Trip Advisor photos
  • Beginning in 1805 and continuing until 1828, Chinese immigrants who died in the Yreka and Siskiyou County area were buried in a cemetery that was once located atop a hill east of Yreka. Historians say that at least 68 Chinese were buried there at one time; however, sometime after that, all of the remains were dug up and sent back to China. The present-day Chinese Cemetery Memorial was later erected in the cemetery’s place, with a plaque listing the names of those known to have been originally buried along with their history, and a headstone that reads in-part, “The graveyard of our past friends.”

Yreka is located along Interstate 5, about 100 miles north of Redding, California and about 50 miles south of Medford, Oregon.

City of Yreka contributed to this article.



Contact the writer: trevor.rcns@gmail.com

Trevor Montgomery, 49, moved in 2017 to the Intermountain area of Shasta County from Riverside County and runs Riverside County News Source (RCNS) and Shasta County News Source (SCNS).

Additionally, he writes or has written for several other news organizations; including Riverside County-based newspapers Valley News, Valley Chronicle, Anza Valley Outlook, and Hemet & San Jacinto Chronicle; the Bonsall/Fallbrook Village News in San Diego County; and Mountain Echo in Shasta County. He is also a regular contributor to Thin Blue Line TV and Law Enforcement News Network and has had his stories featured on news stations throughout the Southern California and North State regions.

Trevor spent 10 years in the U.S. Army as an Orthopedic Specialist before joining the Riverside County Sheriff’s Department in 1998. He was medically retired after losing his leg, breaking his back, and suffering both spinal cord and brain injuries in an off-duty accident. (Click here to see segment of Discovery Channel documentary of Trevor’s accident.)

During his time with the sheriff’s department, Trevor worked at several different stations; including Robert Presley Detention Center, Southwest Station in Temecula, Hemet/Valle Vista Station, Ben Clark Public Safety Training Center, and Lake Elsinore Station; along with other locations.

Trevor’s assignments included Corrections, Patrol, DUI Enforcement, Boat and Personal Water-Craft based Lake Patrol, Off-Road Vehicle Enforcement, Problem Oriented Policing Team, and Personnel/Background Investigations. He finished his career while working as a Sex Crimes and Child Abuse Investigator and was a court-designated expert in child abuse and child sex-related crimes.

Trevor has been married for more than 30 years and was a foster parent to more than 60 children over 13 years. He is now an adoptive parent and his “fluid family” includes 13 children and 18 grandchildren.

One comment

Leave a Reply