Simeon Fisher Southern and the Hazel Creek area

Author: Jeremy Tuggle – Education and Community Engagement Manager – Shasta Historical Society Simeon Fisher Southern, a native of Stephensburg, Kentucky, was born to Stephen Fisher Southern and Rebecca (Duncan) Southern, on September 6, 1822. As a boy, Simeon grew up on his father’s farm as a farmhand assisting his father when he wasn’t attending school. Southern was often referred […]

Read more

Exploring Shasta County History with Jeremy Tuggle

Since July, 2019, Shasta Historical Society’s Education and Community Engagement Manager, Jeremy M. Tuggle has graciously allowed Shasta County News Source (SCNS) to publish and share his fascinating, well-written, and thoroughly researched articles about Shasta County’s rich History. Jeremy, who has authored two books, is a descendant of 11 pioneer families who helped settle Shasta County beginning in the 1850’s […]

Read more

Exploring the rich history of McArthur-Burney Falls Memorial State Park

Author: Jeremy Tuggle – Education and Community Engagement Manager – Shasta Historical Society If you’re ever in Northern California one of the premier destinations in Shasta County to visit is a natural wonder called Burney Falls. This magnificent water fall was designated as a National Natural Landmark in 1984 by the National Park Service. Yet, long before it was developed […]

Read more

Rediscovering the Compton mine of the Shasta mining district

Author: Jeremy Tuggle – Education and Community Engagement Manager – Shasta Historical Society The Compton mine was a producer of gold which was located in the boundaries of the Shasta mining district about 1 1/2 mile south of the town of Keswick, and south of Keswick Dam. It is on the west side of the Sacramento River, at the mouth […]

Read more

Zogg Fire destroys two landmarks in historic town of Ono

Author: Jeremy Tuggle – Education and Community Engagement Manager – Shasta Historical Society Confirmation from the Redding Record Searchlight newspaper confirms that the Zogg Fire, which erupted into flames on the afternoon of September 27, 2020, on Zogg Mine Road in Igo, destroyed two landmarks in the historic nearby town of Ono. The Ono Grange No.445 was instituted on March […]

Read more

The Mount Shasta Mine: A gold mine on the Mt. Shasta Mine Loop Trail

Located about 2 1/2 miles from the town of Shasta is the Mount Shasta mine, a once-lucrative producer of gold and one of the larger gold mining operations in the Shasta mining district, after gold was discovered in the area in 1897. The mine, which is within the boundaries of the Whiskeytown National Recreation Area on the Mt. Shasta Mine […]

Read more

The National mine of the Old Diggings mining district

Miners struck the lucrative quartz vein of the National mine in 1869, at Rich Gulch, and the vein became a heavy producer of gold in the Old Diggings mining district. This caused additional probing and exploratory operations which led to miners sinking winze’s and driving tunnels, drifts and raises on the property which were also dug out by miners using […]

Read more

The historic Princess Ditch Trail; a modern hiking trail with an adit quartz mine?

Located 7.4 miles west of Redding on Muletown Road is the historic Princess Ditch. This ditch was formerly owned and operated by the Princess Hydraulic Mining Company of Leadville, Colorado. It was dug out by their employees during 1896 and it was completed in January of 1897. From the source of its water supply at Boulder Creek in the present […]

Read more

The Temple Hotel

On June 12, 1891, the San Francisco Call newspaper published the following column about the future Temple Hotel and Masonic Lodge of Redding: “Another Masonic Temple The Redding Lodge Branching Out In Grand Style. The Masonic Building Association of Redding has so far completed arrangements as to order the signing of the contract for the erection of the Masonic Temple […]

Read more

A history of Pollard Flat

Shenanigan’s Gulch was the original name of the present-day location of Pollard Flat just 35 miles north of Redding along Interstate 5. The origin of the name is unknown. Shenanigan’s Gulch originally started as a tent community and it was first settled by early Portuguese emigrants.The first route in the area which these emigrants used leading to and from Shenanigan’s […]

Read more
1 2 3